Access Keys:

St Colman's High & Sixth Form College, Ballynahinch


Mr C Rice (Head of Department)



Mrs J King

Mrs M O'Rawe

Mr P Hazzard

Mrs A McKee

Miss R Sloan



This new Level 2 Technical Award is ideally suited to learners with a preference for practical, in addition to, theoretical learning. These qualifications all have a focus on creativity.   Students taking this qualification will study the fundamental aspects required in the three IT occupational areas covered by this specification: Creative, Data Management and Technical. They will also study the specific theory and skills required in their chosen occupational area in greater depth, resulting in the creation and evaluation of an IT system.   Students will gain a range of practical skills in IT. They'll explore one occupational area of IT and focus on the system life cycle to design, create, test and evaluate a solution to an IT problem.   The course content  

  • IT systems; hardware; software; networks; securing IT systems; data and information and emerging technologies.
  • Understand specialist technical principles
  • Design, create, build and evaluate an IT system.
  • Develop core knowledge and understanding of IT applications.


30% - Unit one: Practical Skills in IT (internal assessment) Tasks will cover 10 practical skills from two skills groups. The learner will carry out these tasks and provide a portfolio of evidence.  

30% - Unit two: Creating IT systems (internal assessment) Students will design, explain, plan, build and configure an appropriate IT system for a user, test and evaluate its performance.  

40% - Unit three: Fundamentals of IT (90 minutes external examination) Covering the core: IT systems; hardware; software; networks; securing IT systems; data and information and emerging technologies.  



Post 16

Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma in IT

Cambridge Technicals are vocational qualifications for students aged 16+. They are designed with the workplace in mind and provide a high-quality alternative to A Levels.

Launched in September 2012, the Level 3 Cambridge Technical in IT offers of a wide range of units such as installing hardware, creating a website, identifying an IT fault, computer animation and e-commerce.

Cambridge Technicals are an ideal foundation for learners entering the workplace or going on to University, providing students with a theoretical background reinforced with practical skills that transfer into the modern workplace.

Students complete the following 6 units:

Unit No:

Unit Title

Method of Assessment

Unit 01

Communication and Employability Skills for IT

Internal - coursework

Unit 02

Information Systems

Internal - coursework

Unit 10

Developing Computer Games

Internal - coursework

Unit 12

Website Production

Internal - coursework

Unit 19

Spreadsheet Modelling

Internal - coursework

Unit 27

Digital Graphics

Internal - coursework