Access Keys:

St Colman's High & Sixth Form College, Ballynahinch


Examination Board: OCR 

Specification: Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate in ICT (2016)

Why study ICT?

ICT is one of the most commonly taken Level 3 courses and its popularity is increasing! It concerns the use of ICT within today’s society and how life is changing through the increasing use of computers. You will be taught what the issues are around the growth of ICT and about the technology that drives this growth. You will also be asked to consider what effect these will have and whether these changes are for the better or worse.

What will I learn about?

During this course you will:

  • Gain advanced skills in a wide variety of software packages.
  • Develop strong problem solving skills.
  • Learn essential report writing and research skills.
  • Create a range of projects that covers Game development, Web design and Graphic Images.
  • Develop the ability to analyse, appraise and make critical judgments in using ICT.
  • Obtain a qualification that will make you attractive to future employers.

How is it taught?

The aim of the course is to enable students the opportunity to develop the core specialist knowledge, skills and understanding required in the IT sector. This course allows them to do so through applied learning.

A variety of units studied including hardware, software and online

Includes practical activities in all units - learn, do, review

Develops transferable skills for the workplace or future studies

Skills / Aptitudes required to be successful in this course:

An interest in the Computer industry with a possible desire to enter employment in this area. You should enjoy using computers to research and produce material. You must also be interested in the technical aspect of how the computer systems work and in the creative aspect of digital media.

How will I be assessed?

  1. Fundamentals of IT  - Exam (90)
  2. Global Information   - Exam (90)
  3. Cyber Security         - Exam (60)
  4. Product Development - Coursework (60)
  5. The Internet of Everything - Coursework (60)

This qualification is graded: Pass, Merit, Distinction, Distinction.

Pathways to future careers/courses 

The course is designed to develop advanced ICT skills and knowledge, which are desirable to employers and could enhance career opportunities. It is a subject that fits in well with other A Level subjects or can act as a stand- alone extra. In particular, ICT would benefit being studied alongside subjects such as Media, Science or Business Studies as a career path.

Entry requirements

GCSE Digital Technology C or Higher


GCSE Mathematics C or Higher

5 A*- C